cmnanax.blogg.se

Icycle diaries signed by david byrne
Icycle diaries signed by david byrne












I never thought of myself as a ‘cyclist’, riding a bike was & always has been a way of getting out of the house & perhaps of utmost importance, being untethered. I also had a blue Chopper which was an early variant with handlebars which could be adjusted backwards causing the infamous ‘Chopper wobble’.Īs a 50s child if you didn't ride a bike you remained tethered. I don't remember the make or model, as previously mentioned I just remember the blocks.

icycle diaries signed by david byrne

In those wonderful bygone days of self-reliance when mobile phones didn’t exist I have a memory of my Mum taping a 2p bit to my crossbar just in case I needed to use the phone in an emergency, I was under strict instructions not to spend it on sweets. What is your earliest memory of riding a bike?īlocks! Like many of our generation, my first proper bike was about 10 sizes too big to allow for growth & getting value for money, to facilitate such lengthy ownership, great big blocks of wood were bolted onto the pedals which allowed for even the most stunted of children being able to rotate the cranks, I suspect in this day & age such a measure would see the parents prosecuted for child neglect. On a positive note I have a passion for (in no particular order) Land Rovers (series & Defender only thank you), Montidori Sangiovese, Blackburn Rovers, Patterjack Terriers (I have a rather single minded variant) music from the 70s, pies, loose tea, walking for the sake of it, metal detecting, M*A*S*H 4077, the Shipping Forecast, Desert Island Discs, craft beer, Lancashire cheese, WW2 history and as I’ve got older, a long hot bath with Epsom Salts.

icycle diaries signed by david byrne

I have a list here somewhere, where to start?!?! Litter, when did it become acceptable to drop detritus? If I was made Emperor for a day I would decree that littering of any form would attract a mandatory life sentence, that’d sort it. I was a career Police Officer for 30 years and then moved into education working with spirited kids who, shall we say, needed a little, errr… guidance I’m now retired again & am currently looking to take up a volunteer role with the NT, apparently my life coach (wife) has decided it will do me good to be out of the house! Yo, my name is ‘Waddy’, I do actually have a proper christian name that was allocated to me back in the 1950s but my nickname usurped it from a very early age and its been many years since I’ve been addressed by any other title.














Icycle diaries signed by david byrne